## Stewart County Commissioners Regular Meeting Agenda Tuesday, January 14, 2025 - 4:30 PM

Call to Order

Pledge of Allegiance

Roll Call

**Appointment of Commission Chair** 

**Appointment of Commission Vice Chair** 

**Reading and Approval of Minutes** 

### **Public Appearances**

- A. Jessica Robinson Buddy Boy Thornton Road
- B. Winston Morrison, Chair of the Board of Assessors Tax Assessor Budget

#### **Administrative Matters**

- **A.** 2025 SPLOST
- B. Resolutions for new Tax Commissioner
- **C.** Ratify Fixed Award Amendment Windstream
- D. Appointments/Reappointments to SWGA Regional Development Authority
- E. Appointment to Pataula Advisory Board

### Reports

- A. Financial Report
- B. Road Superintendent
- C. Public Safety Director Greg Stewart
- D. County Attorney Binford Minter
- E. County Manager Mac Moye

### **Old Business**

#### **New Business**

- A. Meal Reimbursement
- **B.** Surplus Vehicles

**Executive Session (if needed)** 

**Commissioners' Comments** 

Adjourn

# Stewart County Board of Commissioners Regular Meeting Minutes January 14, 2025 – 4:30 PM

The Stewart County Board of Commissioners held a Regular Meeting on January 14, 2025. The meeting convened at 4:30 PM at the Stewart County Courthouse with Vice Chair Arcola Scott presiding.

Pledge of Allegiance - in unison

Roll Call

Commissioners in attendance:
Vice-Chair Arcola Scott
Commissioner Joe Lee Williams
Commissioner Tyrone Nelson
Commissioner Thomas Mayo
Commissioner MaQuonzie Thomas

Other Staff in Attendance: Mac Moye, County Manager Carole Stewart, County Clerk Bin Minter, County Attorney

**Appointment of Commission Chair** – Commissioner Joe Lee Williams moved to appoint Vice-Chair Arcola Scott to Chairwoman; seconded by Commissioner Thomas Mayo. All voted in favor and motion carried.

Appointment of Commission Vice-Chair – Commissioner Tyrone Nelson moved to appoint Commissioner Thomas Mayo to Vice-Chair; seconded by Commissioner Joe Lee Williams. All voted in favor and motion carried

Chairwoman Arcola Scott moved to rescind HB581 opt in vote; seconded by Commissioner Tyron Nelson. All voted in favor and motion carried

Reading and Approval of Minutes – Commissioner Joe Lee Williams moved to approve the December 10, 2024 Regular meeting minutes with rescind of the HB581 vote; seconded by Commissioner Tyrone Nelson. All voted in favor and motion carried.

# Public Appearance:

- A. Jessica Robinson Ms. Robinson did not appear.
- B. Robb Lane, Board of Tax Assessors Mr. Lane appeared before the Commission with a request to take a second look at the Tax Assessor budget, specifically at the Chief Appraiser salary. Chairwoman Arcola Scott responded with explanation of how budget was determined. Commissioner Joe Lee Williams and Commission Tyrone Nelson also commented. Commissioner Tyrone Nelson moved to give an additional \$2,000 to the Chief Appraiser salary from within the

existing Tax Assessor 2025 budget; seconded by Vice-Chair Thomas Mayo. All voted in favor and motion carried.

## **Administrative Matters:**

- A. 2025 SPLOST Commissioner Joe Lee Williams moved to accept the 2025 SPLOST Resolution; seconded by Commissioner Tyrone Nelson. All voted in favor and motion carried.
- B. Tax Commissioner Commissioner Joe Lee Williams moved to approve Tax Commissioner Shirley Walker to accept checks, cash, debit cards, and/or credit cards for payment on behalf of Stewart County; seconded by Vice-Chair Thomas Mayo. All voted in favor and motion carried. Commissioner Joe Lee Williams moved to approve Tax Commissioner Shirley Walker to disburse Property and Title Ad Valorem Taxes to Stewart County on a monthly basis and authorize the disbursements for Motor Vehicles on a bi-weekly basis; seconded by Vice-Chair Thomas Mayo. All voted in favor and motion carried. Chairwoman Arcola Scott moved to approve Tax Commissioner Shirley Walker the authority to correct obvious clerical errors in accordance with the provisions of O.C.G.A. 48-5-380(e); seconded by Commissioner Tyrone Nelson. All voted in favor and motion carried.
- C. Windstream Fixed Award Amendment Commissioner Joe Lee Williams moved to ratify the fixed award amendment; seconded by Commissioner Tyrone Nelson. All voted in favor and motion carried.
- D. Reappointments to SWGA Regional Development Authority Chairwoman Arcola Scott moved to reappoint Denise Tinker and Debbie Stone to the SWGARDA for 2 and 4 years respectively; seconded by Commissioner Tyrone Nelson. All voted in favor and motion carried.
- E. Appointment to Pataula Advisory Board Chairwoman Arcola Scott moved to appoint Vice-Chair Thomas Mayo to Pataula Advisory Board; seconded by Commissioner Tyrone Nelson. All voted in favor and motion carried.

# Reports:

- A. Financial Report Commissioner Joe Lee Williams moved to accept the December 2024 financial reports; seconded by Vice-Chair Thomas Mayo. All voted in favor and motion carried.
- B. Road Superintendent County Manager Mac Moye provided December 2024 Road Department report in conjunction with his County Manager report.
- C. Public Safety Director Public Safety Administrator Greg Stewart provided the EMS report to be reviewed.
- D. County Attorney County Attorney Bin Minter provided a report on legal topics pertinent to the county for the commission to review. Commission unanimously agreed to hold 3 meetings for opting out of HB6581, those dates and times being February 4, 2025 at 8:30 am and 6:00 pm, and February 11, 2025 at 6:00 pm.
- E. County Manager County Manager Mac Moye provided his report on topics pertinent to the county for December 10, 2024 - January 14, 2025.

### Old Business:

## **New Business:**

- A. Meal Reimbursement Chairwoman Arcola Scott moved to have receipts from travel submitted for reimbursement with reimbursement amount no more than \$50 per day; seconded by Vice-Chair Thomas Mayo. All voted in favor and motion carried
- B. Surplus Vehicles Discussion over identified vehicles. County Manager to research further.

## **Commissioner Comments:**

Vice-Chair Thomas Mayo - Thank you for voting for me for Vice-Chair.

Commissioner Joe Lee Williams - Need positive talks regarding the 2025 SPLOST. Commissioner Tyrone Nelson - none

Chairwoman Arcola Scott - Thank you for the vote of confidence for Chair. I am the first woman Chair for Stewart County.

Commissioner MaQuonzie Thomas - none, but recognized David Brown to speak about fence issue on Moore's Store Rd. County Attorney to look into issue further.

Vice-Chair Thomas Mayo moved to adjourn the meeting; seconded by Commissioner MaQuonzie Thomas. All voted in favor and motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 5:56 PM.